top of page
  • Writer's picturekristen glover

Backstage Access at Sean Suen


When I first received confirmation of the opportunity to intern as a dresser for the Sean Suen F/W 2019-20 show, I was really excited. Since I wasn’t familiar with Sean Suen designs, I researched and watched videos of his previous collections. I was impressed by the uniquely designed collection pieces and the level of creativity. When I first arrived for the Sean Suen show, I immediately noticed the calm working environment, amongst which was a quite busy team of staff persons getting ready for the show. The selected venue was beautiful and surrounded by multiple classic architectural backdrops.

As I sent my assigned collection items down the line, the first person to introduce himself was one of the stylists. He was very friendly and thanked me for coming to help with the show. We then met the other stylists on the team, who shared their plans for the show and explained what to expect. The instructions were organized on index cards with specifics on how to dress the outfit on the model. The models were provided with instructions on how to present their specific outfits. While working as an intern, I was able to dress three models, all of whom were great to work with. The dressing had to be quick and efficient, ensuring each model was in position for the runway in time.


Interning as a dresser was a fun experience. I would love to participate again. This experience was an outstanding opportunity to learn about the designs, how the pieces came together and the inspiration behind the Sean Suen collection.






Comments


  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Screen Shot 2018-12-04 at 14.47.05
bottom of page