top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria Fernanda Hernandez Alvarado

Is social media a threat on emerging fashion designers' creativity?

With the rise of AI and increase use of social media, is this causing creative constipation amongst the artistically inclined?


1 Granary


Curated image after curated image, we are continuously fed with images of other creatives being productive throughout every second of every day. Although we realize that this work has taken days, if not weeks and months to finish, this still messes with our perception of the already fast paced industry. Something new, never seen, something better than what you just created put to you in an endless loop. Can social media and new technology be causing constant creative block for the artistic inclined? Social media apps such as Instagram, Tik Tok, Pinterest and YouTube are at our fingertips at any given part of the day. Our phone might even be one of the first things that we reach for when waking up.


These internal voices of worldwide competition kept popping up in my head as I struggled through the design process of my final collection this past summer. When I tried to sketch, drape and experiment with some fabric manipulation, it seemed that whatever I came up with was already in some form or other - out there. To truly tune out the noise I deleted Instagram from my phone so that I could clear my head, start fresh and that is how I ultimately managed to finish. Though I do confess I installed it right back after a few days, call me easily distracted or addicted but just like me according to Business Apps, “Gen Z spends an average of 4 hours and 15 minutes per day on apps,” yes, it is quite shocking!


“We are constantly comparing ourselves to the most perfect examples of other creatives work and it stifles me…to a point where I mentally give up.”


More recently, out on a cold yet sunny day, while sipping some much-needed grog and hot chocolate, a friend studying her MFA at Parson’s Anna Vescovi and I discussed this collective struggle between young creatives. Social media, and new technology such as AI is constantly upgrading and generating new things. “We are constantly comparing ourselves to the most perfect examples of other creatives work and it stifles me…to a point where I mentally give up.” These words might as well sum up my final year of studies I thought as she continued. “I put music on or a podcast that does not have to do with fashion and get into a mindset of - I’m allowed to make mistakes; I’m allowed to be imperfect.” She remembered that when she was little, she would draw and make a mess, a fun mess, something that we are now afraid to be. Have all of these perfect images of perfect finished work made creatives stop during some point of making art. As we know, progress cannot happen if we do not allow mistakes to happen.


While some creatives feel overwhelmed with social media, the showcasing of their work brings inspiration to some. Final year student at IFA Anais Song says “I don’t connect my creativity to social media, I haven’t had creative block, but I’ve been inspired. At times it does give me a bit of anxiety – all of these people doing everything I’m doing but better – at the same time it gives hope. I feel like I have a very strong creative identity, so my ideas are original nevertheless.” Bringing in a piece of your own personality is what sets each artist apart from one another, although the common denominator of being human is what ties us together, our personal stories set us apart.


Now with AI and its capability to create anything with just a description from images and texts to sounds and video, are designers jobs on the line? These rendered images have made it difficult to distinguish what is real and what is not. Vescovi adds, “Architects or interior designers can relate to this- where you see a space or a building that doesn’t exist and fashion is the same. At first, I was like- oh my god…how was that made, then I realize that – it is not real!” On the positive spectrum of AI does lie the faster detection of trends thus minimizing production, as more accurate prediction will allow for companies to create less – but does not relate to young creatives now.


1 Granary


Ultimately, each artist has a different creative process, it then lies within them to tune out the noise of social media or to embrace it and find the different channels and opportunities that arise from it. As mentioned before, each artist has a unique point of view, a story to tell, a different life lived, and it shows through what they make. As Vescovi easily put it, “Focusing on your personality and letting that shine through, that is what is super important.” A computer machine does not have the same human sentiments that make up an artist and it seems we will be dealing with them for the foreseeable future.



Comments


  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Screen Shot 2018-12-04 at 14.47.05
bottom of page